26 February 2021

This year’s DivinaLaw Philippines Jessup Cup was successfully held exclusively online via Zoom from February 22 to February 26 with nine participating schools. University of the Philippines emerged as champion for the fourth consecutive year. University of San Carlos was runner-up.

The competition is the Philippine round of the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition – the oldest and largest international moot court competition in the world. Participating schools simulate a fictional dispute between countries that is brought before the International Court of Justice.

DivinaLaw has been the sponsor and co-organizer of the national rounds of the Jessup Cup since 2014, along with the University of Santo Tomas Faculty of Civil Law. Due to the pandemic, the competition was held online instead of in-person, in preparation for the global rounds of the Jessup Cup that will also be conducted online this year.

Traditionally, only the national champion and runner-up teams are allowed to compete in the international rounds held in Washington, D.C., USA. But for the 2021 Jessup Competition, every team that registered and completed all the requirements will be eligible to compete against opponents from around the world. The global rounds will take place over a five-week period, beginning mid-March 2021.

Below is the full list of winners for the 2021 DivinaLaw Philippines Jessup Cup:

National Champion: University of the Philippines

Runner-Up: University of San Carlos

Best Applicant Memorial: University of San Carlos

Best Respondent Memorial: University of the Philippines

Best Overall Memorial: University of the Philippines

Best Oralist – Championship Match: Rhomeljustein Redoble (USC)

Top 10 Oralists:

  1. Camille Angela Cruz (UP)
  2. Rhomeljustein Redoble (USC)
  3. Chrisha Ver Romano-Weigel (USC)
  4. Andrea Jasmine Yu (UP)
  5. Deric Robert Siquian (ADMU)
  6. Carlos Auxtero III (University of St. La Salle)
  7. Haidee Amabel Uy (UST)
  8. Peter Joshua Ortega (UP)
  9. Patrick Alcantara (ADMU)
  10. Rohnwald Marcelo (ADMU)