In light of the present state of calamity throughout the Philippines, the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) issued Foreign Service Circular No. 29-2020 which temporarily suspends visa issuance in all its Foreign Service Posts effective immediately. The suspension is effective until further notice.

With the suspension, all visa-free privileges including those based on Visa Waiver Agreements, those under Executive Order 408, s.1960, and for holders of Hong Kong and Macau SAR passports, Macau-Portuguese passports, and British National Overseas passports, are likewise temporarily suspended, effective 22 March 2020. 

The temporary suspension of visa issuance will deem all previously issued visas canceled, and foreigners with visas issued by Philippine Foreign Service Posts (primarily 9a Temporary Visitor/Tourist visas) will not be allowed entry into the country starting 22 March 2020. 


  1. Visas previously issued to accredited Foreign Government and International Organization officials and their dependents. 
  2. Previously issued visas to foreign spouses and children of Filipino nationals.

This temporary suspension has no impact on foreign nationals that are already in the country or on holders of visas issued by other government agencies (like the Bureau of Immigration).  

Read the full text of the DFA Circular here.