2 March 2022

The 2022 DivinaLaw-UST Philippine Jessup Cup recently concluded with University of the Philippines (UP) taking home the biggest awards, including the national championship for the fifth consecutive year. University of San Carlos (USC) also continued to impress, emerging as runner-up for the second straight year.

This year’s tournament drew nine participating schools which competed against each other in online rounds conducted from February 26 to March 1, 2022.

UP and USC will represent the Philippines in the global rounds of the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition – the oldest and largest international moot court competition in the world. The competition will be held online from March 25 to April 9, 2022.

Since 2014, DivinaLaw has been the sponsor and co-organizer of the national rounds of the Jessup Cup, along with the University of Santo Tomas Faculty of Civil Law. Managing Partner Atty. Nilo T. Divina is also Dean of the UST Faculty of Civil Law. Senior Partner Atty. Enrique V. Dela Cruz Jr. serves as the National Administrator of the DivinaLaw-UST Philippine Jessup Cup.

Below is the full list of winners for 2022 DivinaLaw-UST Philippine Jessup Cup:

National Champion: University of the Philippines
Runner-Up: University of San Carlos

Best Applicant Memorial: University of the Philippines
Best Respondent Memorial: University of the Philippines
Best Overall Memorial: University of the Philippines

Best Oralist – Championship Match: Aloysius Francis Bresnan (UP)

Top 10 Oralists:

  1. Berenice Joanna Dela Cruz (UP)
  2. Aloysius Francis Bresnan (UP)
  3. Chrisha Ver Romano-Weigel (USC)
  4. Czar Matthew Gerald Dayday (UP)
  5. Edward Dominic Emilio (USC)
  6. Maria Josefina Concio (ADMU)
  7. Rachel Lois Gella (University of St. La Salle)
  8. Claire Marie Rojas (University of Cebu – Banilad)
  9. Vanessa Joy Matti (University of St. La Salle)
  10. Adrian Gabriel Padilla (UP) and Isabelle Beatriz Ginez (ADMU) *tie